New Chairman is appointed to NARA

Professor. M.J.S.Wijeyaratne, newly appointed chairman of National Aquatic Resources Research and Development Agency assumed his duties on the 10th  of February 2022. Mr. Jayantha Chandrasoma, Secretary, State Ministry of Ornamental Fish, Inland Fish & Prawn Farming, Fishery Harbour Development, Multiday Fishing Activities and Fish Exports, Professor Upali S. Amarasinghe, and Dr. H.M.P.Kithsiri, Director General of NARA participated for this occasion.

Emeritus Senior Professor Jayantha Wijeyaratne has more than 40 years of experience in the field of fisheries science. He had his secondary education at t Royal College, Colombo and is a graduate of the University of Sri Lanka, University of Michigan, USA and University of Kelaniya.

He has carried out large amount of research in the field of fisheries and aquatic sciences and has published more than 100 research papers in reputed scientific journals. In addition, he has authored 15 books. Further, he has contributed as the Consultant on Fisheries and Ecology for more than 75 development projects both in Sri Lanka and overseas.

He has won many awards for his research including the awards for the Best Young Scientist in Biology awarded by the Third World Academy of Science, CVCD Excellence Award for Best Senior Researcher in Biology awarded by the Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Directors and Presidential Awards for Research.

He has an illustrious academic career of over 42 years at the University of Kelaniya, where he was teaching fisheries science as a Lecturer, Professor and Senior Professor and had produced many students who are holding distinguished positions both in Sri Lanka and Abroad.

Professor Wijeyaratne has held many administrative positions including the Head of the Department of Zoology, Dean of the Faculty of Science and the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Kelaniya. He has also served as the Chairman of National Science and Technology Commission and as a member of the Governing Boards of several institutions including the National Institute of Fundamental Studies, Industrial Technology Institute, National Science Foundation, Arthur C Clark Institute of Modern Technology and Sri Lanka Standards Institution.

He is a member of several professional associations including the Asian Fisheries Society, Sri Lanka association for the Advancement of Science and Sri Lanka Association for Fisheries and Aquatic Resources and a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences and Institute of Biology of Sri Lanka.